Pontoon Choice (Outcast/Bucks/Watermaster/Others)

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by Matt Roelofs, Dec 14, 2006.

1. A bit of background before I ask for your advice. I am a relative novice fly fisher - I got my first rod 3 years ago and spent the first couple of seasons fishing for trout in small rivers and creeks. More recently I've been reading, buying gear, etc. to add steelhead and salmon to my list along with some stillwater fishing as well. In many of these pursuits it is becoming clear that I need a one-man float craft beyond the float tube that I already own.

So, I'm looking for a boat that will primarily be used for day floats (though an overnight is possible - but no week-long expeditions) on some of our local rivers (Skagit, Yak, etc.). I'm a little spooked by scary whitewater, so likely wouldn't go that way. I would also like the boat to have good stillwater capability.

As you know the options are many...

Option 1 is to buy something affordable and see how it goes (Costco has a deal on both an 8' and 9' boat from Trout Unlimited and many of the other companies make 'value' models in the $300-$500 range) - cheap now, but will I feel a need to upgrade in the near future?

Option 2 is to step up in terms of materials / durability to the boats in the $600-$700 range (the Bucks Bags Southfork as an example) - probably high enough quality to avoid the upgrade bug, but often these are base prices and get more expensive as you add accessories (longer oars, padded seats, anchors, etc.)

Option 3 is to go right to the top end (the Outcast PAC 800 seems to be popular in this range) and figure there is no way to spend more $$ in the future.

Option 4 is the Watermaster wildcard. Given the price I would not have considered this, but once you start to consider pontoons that are upwards of 1K, you're in the same ballpark.

So, those are the parameters....advice / experiences appreciated!