Pontoon Rod Holders?

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by SteelieD, May 4, 2007.

1. SteelieD Non Member

In a van down by the river
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    So I'm new to the pontoon boat thing and I am looking for ways to hold my rod(s) while I fish or row. Ideally, I'd like two rodholders so I can have one rod set up for dries and the other for streamers and chronies. Yes, I've seen the Scotty rodholders, but I am wondering if there is a more 'economical' way to do it. Maybe something I could constuct myself. Any suggestions?

Thanks!
  2. ral Rich Layendecker

I carry a second rod in a piece of PVC tubing lashed to a pontoon behind my left shoulder. Take a 12" piece of 1" or 1.5" pvc tube, cut a 6" lengthwise slot 3/8" wide in it and a couple of holes 4" apart opposite the slot. Run a rope or web belt through the two holes and attach the pvc tube to your pontoon standing upright with the slot facing up. Stick your rod in the tube and let your reel seat slide in the slot. The spring action of the split tube will hold the rod secure. This is not for fishing but for transporting a second rod.
  3. Old Man Just an Old Man

Dillon, Mt
    Ratings: +1,401 / 0
    I have something like that but I got mine from JBrodie. At one time he was making something like that.

Jim
  4. DeanHosh New Member

Seattle
    Hi Steelie,

I got a new Scotty fly rod that I am not using. It has the standard square base. PM me if you want to buy it for $10.

-_Dean
  5. riseform Active Member

Tacoma, WA
    Ratings: +216 / 0
    Not sure if this'll help since I have a 2 man pontoon and have more length to deal with than a single person craft.