Pontoons for dummies

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by atomic dog, Jul 19, 2012.

1. atomic dog

atomic dog Jive Turkey

Media:
    A recent birthday has resulted in my posessing a new pontoon boat. It's a Buck's Bags High Adventure 9'. Should be plenty of boat for what I want to do. I've never used or owned a pontoon before so I have a couple questions.

It has an anchor system, what type and how heavy an anchor do I need? Is there a certain type of rope that is best for anchors?

I'll be mainly using this for lake fishing, but I would like to take it on some mellow river floats if I get the chance. I'm already trying to figure out how I might be able to float the lower Yak around here and chase down some smallies. It's pretty flat around here, so I don't see that as an issue. Are there sections up in the canyon on the Yakima where this particular boat could handle?

I'm hoping to get up to Hutchinson Lake this weekend to break it in with some bluegill fishing.

[​IMG]

2. Freestone

Freestone Not to be confused with freestoneangler

Media:
    It should make a great boat to use on the lower Yak for smallies! It will open up launches/take-outs like Twin Bridges to you vs a bigger boat. I think Red's has a pontoon boat class coming up on the Yak. It might be worth a drive up to the canyon to take the class. In general, I never anchor my pontoon in current. I use the anchor in lakes and to keep it on the shore of rivers when I get off to wade fish. Most of the time in rivers, I just drag the boat up the beach so I leave the anchor home 90% of the time. It is extra weight, just one more thing to deal with and can turn into a huge safety hazard on moving water. If you use an anchor, be sure to have a river knife handy at all times in case you need to cut the rope.