Poppers and SRCs

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Salmon fisher, Oct 8, 2006.

1. Hi guys.

I went fishing for SRCs with a popper for the first time yesterday and have a couple questions. I didn't tie the popper with a trailing hook and had three strikes but no hookups. Is it necessary to have a trailing hook? Do I secure the mono from the trailing hook to the front hook by wrapping it down with tying thread?Lastly, I didn't see any fish following the popper, just the strikes. Am I not seeing the fish, or is it possible they aren't following the fly near the surface?

Thanks for your help

2. Well, I'm no expert, but I've been throwing a lot of poppers out there, because I think it's really fun. I've had MANY missed strikes. This seems to be a frustrating, yet typical, element of fishing a popper. I haven't tried a trailer hook, so I can't advise you on that rigging, but I think it would be worth a shot. As for followers, I have experienced a good number of wakes behing my fly, some of which resulted in strikes, others just seemed to turn away. The one thing I have noticed is that, whether it's a missed strike or a follower, it is best to keep that popper moving. Most of the time the fish will keep pursuing the fly until it gets pretty close to you. Like I said, I'm not a seasoned popper pro, but ever since I used one for the first time and got an SRC on the surface, I decided that it's about as fun as it can get.Also, for a less experienced saltwater flyfisher, it's an easy way to keep an eye on exactly where you're presenting your fly.

3. Leland ties his pattern with a trailing hook ONLY. He ties his 'stinger' with 15 pound mono and lays this on the hook shank (the one in the vise) and wraps over the mono then folds it back over it's self and wraps over it again. cement this down. He than finishes the remainder of the pattern and then cuts of the 'hook' part of the body hook leaving only the trailing hook which is usually a Gamakatsu Octopus bait hook.