Poppers

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by GAT, Jun 2, 2013.

1. Rainy's sells a couple different styles of closed-cell foam pre-shaped bodies that I've never used before. As I ended up fishing for LMB yesterday, I'm back into bass mode.

I wasn't exactly sure what to do with the frog body so I winged it.

The yellow body is longer than the norm and I've never tied a popper with that style before so it's worth a try. Yellow and black poppers are the ones that work the best for me... but in a smaller body size.

We'll see. None of this means a thing if they don't work.

IMG_1043_edited-1.jpg

Bugtyer, Jeff Dodd and McNasty like this.
  2. i really like that frog one. that'd work good in some ponds i fish.

kelvin likes this.
  3. I'm most interested in trying that guy. I've caught some of my largest LMB on frog patterns but they were made with the traditional, squat body. The knotted legs are also something new for me.

4. i think the legs look good, frogs do have pretty long toes. some of my biggest bass i caught before i started fly fishing on frog patterns.

5. Which frog bodies are you talking about? Rainy's? Or?

I know we have some foam cutters we use at PHW for making them. Turn out really nice. We use them on one of the local lakes we fish that are full of bass.

BTW, some of those Rainy's heads are great to work with. Glue them on (I'm assuming you're talking about the ones with the pre cut hole where you can just slide it on the hook), paint/color with marker to your liking, then we clear coat them. Work great.

6. I'm talking about Rainy's. The pre-drilled guys.

Originally I used pre shaped bodies from Edgewater but they disappeared. It appears Rainy's bought them out and are now offering the popper bodies.