Possible to turn a 2 piece into a 4 piece?

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by phil217, Mar 14, 2011.

1. phil217 Member

Seattle, WA
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I have a custom made 4 weight...It is a 2 piece 10 Foot rod. I was wondering if it is possible to turn into a 4 piece rod...

If it is...any recommendations on where I can take it to be done?

Thanks!
  2. NewTyer1 Banned or Parked

Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
    Ratings: +29 / 1
    That's a good question
  3. Mike Ediger Active Member

Spokane, WA
    Ratings: +150 / 8
    I am no expert, but I think you could do it if you want to make spigot ferrules for the rod. Originally, some (many? I don't know) are rolled as one piece and the ferrules are added after the rod is cut into pieces. So it can be done I think. However, actually doing it is way past my limited knowledge.
    Good luck.
  4. NewTyer1 Banned or Parked

Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
    Ratings: +29 / 1
    It is going to be hard cutting without splintering. That would be the first step, trying to figure that out and where to cut. I'm thinking equal lengths. Maybe a fine band saw, wrapping masking tape around the area your going to cut.
  5. Mike Ediger Active Member

Spokane, WA
    Ratings: +150 / 8
    unless you have the right tools and an really know what you are doing, sounds like a great opportunity to ruin a rod to me.
  6. crookedneck New Member

Peshtigo, Wi
    Ratings: +4 / 0
    It can be done. As far as cutting it. Dremel with a Diamond cut off disc. I would suggest not doing it though. 1.) for the price you would have to pay for the ferrules you will probably be able to buy a new rod. 2.) the ferrules would be metal and most are suggested for bamboo or fiberglass. If you would like more info PM me and I can point you in the right direction.

Mike
  7. Mike Monsos AKA flyman219

Redmond, Washington, USA.
    Ratings: +71 / 0
    Phil,