questin about stripping baskets

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by rockfish, Dec 1, 2001.

1. i busted the hard plastic material for the outside framing of the basket. its a long piece of material that goes all the way out and keeps it the shape of a basket. i busted it in the middle so its looks like i got a hard on. i checked a local fly shop he said go to the fabric store and could not find that synthetic material. has anybody ever done this before out there in internet world and what can you use to make it right. looks embarrassing to wear, later Ben

2. HELPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

3. Ben,

Hard to get a picture of what you have for a stripping basket from your description. Is it one of the collapsable mesh types?

I've been using the Orvis stripping basket for the past 3 years with absolutely no problem. Granted, they're $40+ bucks. Many folks fabricate their own from Rubbermaid containers and I've even seen some who use baskets from their local grocery stores. Word to the wise: you don't need drain holes as they only compromise distance casts.

If you can give me a make/model of what you use, I'll try to do some research and see if I can come up with a fix for it.

Greg

4. GREG

its made by cortland its a collapsable mesh types. its all mesh except for the top where a synthetic hard material slides thru where the buckle is and goes all the way around to the other buckle makin the framing of the basket. it broke in the middle. I bought it last winter because i was tired of my line being 20ft down the beach when i started to make my cast. its the 30$ one thats all mesh with the 2 mesh pockets in front. pretty simple but effective. thanks Ben

5. Ben - if I'm picturing this right it sounds like a couple of small hose clamps might work - over lap the broken ends an inch or two. Good luck, bart

6. And here I thought this was a flyfishing forum and not a sex therapy group.