Rainshadow Switch Rod Building Kit

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by Rick Sharp, Apr 22, 2009.

1. Rick Sharp Member

West Richland, WA 99353
    Ratings: +16 / 0
    I found this kit on ebay for 129 plus 12 shipping from a shop in Boise Idaho. now I've read and reread almost all the search results about this particular rod and mainly due to price I believe this is what I'm going to get next. I have plenty of rod building experience so that is no problem. I do like the handle that comes with this kit as well. The question I'd like to pose is that of a 6 weight or 7 weight. I plan to use it mainly for smallmouth and steelhead in rivers, that's why I'm considering going with a 7 weight, I'm not quite clear on the line size to use and if a 7 could be overkill for my intended use. Does anyone else use or has tried one of these rods and can shed some light on line recommendations and some personal preferences as far as 6 or 7 weight for my intended use? I also have a older model Lamson bonefish reel that I'm planning on using with this rod, again mainly due to cost. Trying to make use of what I have and spend more for "on water time". Will the reel work out ok as well? I'm new to this switch rod concept.
    Thanks in advance
    Rick
  2. Tyler Speir Artist

Puyallup, WA
    Ratings: +12 / 0
    I would go with the 7wt in that blank. You don't want to limit yourself with the 6wt.
  3. DLoop Creating memories one cast at a time

Washington.
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I've built two of these in 8wt. For a skagit spey line the 8wt takes about 400grains if that helps you gauge where the 7wt would fall. I agree with Tyler, and recommend the 7wt over the 6 for your described use..

The grip is the standard Batson switch rod grip. The reel seat in the ebay kit doesn't look like the standard one however.

I think you might be able to do this cheaper here: http://www.utmostenterprises.com. You will 25% off from Batson's themselves.

Batson Part Numbers:

Reel Seat: RYSW-SG