Reel Suggestions

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by young_gun, Oct 16, 2002.

1. young_gun

young_gun New Member

Hello All,

I'm new to fishing for steelhead and am looking for a fly reel to go with my 8wt rod. Do you have any suggestions of good reels to check out? I want something that is reliable and not too pricey. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks!

2. wyo_guy

wyo_guy New Member

3. Surf_Candy

Surf_Candy Member

Media:
    You'll get lots of opinions! One idea is to pick a budget and stick with it - say $100 - then try to find a reel for that price - I find it too easy to get sucked into higher price reels. I also suggest getting one that accepts more backing so you can use it for kings or warm saltwater fishing when on vacation....you never know.

As Dan Blanton says - buy what you can afford, but only cry once.

Check ebay - Redington has unloaded a line of reels and they are going for 40-50$. Warranty may be an issue.

check the classifieds on this site, also do a web search for "For Sale by Flyfisher" - I've purchased from guys at that site. I picked up an Abel reel for 1/2 retail.

GLoomis as an Adventure series for $100. Teton Tioga reels work well too. Hear OK things about Okuma - great price if the reel is as people claim. Ross reels are always good - Cimarron and Gunnison. Saltwater approved too. Sage has a line out as well that is affordable.

About lines - I recommend getting a versatip system with floating, intermediate and 2 sinking tips - it will cover 90% of your fishing needs and save you $200 when you don't have to buy full length fly lines for each type. Also saves the extra spool cost if you were thinking of going that route.

good luck

Jim

4. Dan Reynolds

Dan Reynolds Member

Media:
    Tioga #8.

I have one and it's absolutely bomb proof! Awesome drag, very simple and easy to clean. $110 (watch ebay for deals) and spare spools are cheap ($48).