FS/WTT Renzetti Master vise

Discussion in 'Classifieds' started by Nick Clayton, May 1, 2013.

1. Nick Clayton Active Member

Ratings: +1,309 / 4
    I have a Renzetti Master vise that I acquired earlier this year when I swapped my Norvise setup for it. I really don't know how old the vise is, and I have no paperwork for it. It's been well used, with wear obvious in many spots. Functionally, however, it is like butter. This lpuppy is smmmmmooooothhh. The jaws have held every hook I've put in it without a second thought. Absolutely nothing wrong with this vise functionally, it's just not new either.

Anyhow, as I said, I'm not sure how old it is, and I have no paperwork or anything. I do have a padded Renzetti case that came with it. I have pics on my cell phone that I can send to anyone interested in taking a look.

I've tied on this exclusively since trading for it.... eh... I guess it was 6-8 months ago? It is truly a joy to tie on. Smooth as silk, with a ton of gripping power. My only beef is that it didn't really fit my large hands at the back of the vise, especially when tying on smaller hooks. (I tie 80% of my flies on size 12 or smaller hooks). A few months back I was in Pacific Fly Fishers playing around with a Barracuda, and wanted one since. Well as a reward for some personal changes I have made lately I sprung for one this week, and I am sold. This vise fits my hands like they were made for each other, so that leaves the Master collecting dust.

So, I have no real clue what to value this thing at. I've looked around online as much as I could, and found used ones from 400 on up. I'm thinking maybe due to the cosmetic wear of this vise, that I would put an asking price at 300$ and go from there.

I'd also be interested in trades, particularly for a smaller travel style vise that I could keep at work for tying on my lunch breaks, and taking on the road with me.... Or a 5 wt rod to be added to my stillwater arsenal.