Rigging Tube flies so you don't lose them when you break off the hook.

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Paul Huffman, Jan 30, 2013.

1. I'm still not sold on tube flies. I still like tying my big flies on a shank with a dropper. One of the advantages proponents claim for the tube flies is you can replace the hook if the hook gets damaged and keep on fishing. What happens to me is when I have to break off a hook, the fly goes with it. Is there an easy way to rig a tube fly so it isn't just slide off the leader when you break off the hook?

2. I have been using prefab bobber stops for this for several years now and they work well for the task. On tandem tubes I put the bobber stop on my line just behind the front tube and on non tandem It may have to go right above the terminal knot snugged just inside the junction tube. They work to keep the fly on about 3/4 of the time and this probably depends more on how you are snagged. If you are snagged on the actual hook your will be fine.

There is user experience required to get bobber stops to the correct tightness so they don't damage your leader and they also don't move. You will probably be frustrated at first.

Also, it is complicated rigging them at the river so I have a leader board with all my tube flies pre-rigged so I don't necessarily have to deal with this crap while fishing.

I should also say that I am still not so sure where I stand on tube flies. It seems like so much extra effort for what I am not sure is much benefit. I still like a box of flies with actual eyes and I can just grab one that looks good and tie it on there. I have experimented with leeches tied as tandem tubes and leaches tied with a loop of braid and the action looks the same to me.