Rio: VersiTip or Not?

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Aaron O'Leary, May 17, 2007.

1. Aaron O'Leary The Theory

Ellensburg
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I am looking to buy Sage VT2 7130-4 and panning on buying a rio line. I am going to do some summer fishing, but also do a good amount of winter steelheading. I am trying to figure out what line to get. I have a versitip for my single-hand #8 and am not to impressed. I would like know what you think about the lines. I am new to spey fishing. Should I get a Windcuttuer, Skagit, or Midspey line? Tips or not? Thanks a lot. Also, a reel. Would a 3500D be the right size? Sage didn't give any spey line specs.
  2. Red Shed "junkyard spey"

Peck, ID
    Ratings: +7 / 0
    I do believe you will really like that rod. For a general spey fishing lineI would buy a WindCutter VersiTip 7/8/9.

As to a reel, I'm not familar with the 3500D. I do know a Lamson Velocity 4 will balance nicely on that rod and hold 175 yds 30# backing with the above line.
  3. freezerburn New Member

Alaska
    For someone who is new to the deuce and spey casting, I would recommend the RIO Skagit line. IMO it is the easiest line to get someone fishing and is ideal for sinktip work. You can even put a floating tip on it. The Windcutter is also a good choice like Red Shed mentioned.

Check out Simon Gawesworth's review of the Sage VT2 7130 http://www.speyborn.com/VT2Review.htm.

For reels, the 3500D would match up well with the rod. I use the 3500D on a Sage Z-Axis 7136 with a RIO Skagit 450. Holds all of the backing you could need.

Good luck.
  4. Aaron O'Leary The Theory

Ellensburg
    This may sound amateur, but I do not know. I have #8 and #10 versitips. Can I put these tips onto the skagit spey? Thanks for the replies.
  5. James Mello Inventor of the "closed eye conjecture"

Tacoma
    Ratings: +88 / 0