Rock Lake, Whitman County - Big Rainbows & Browns

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by Fritz, Apr 21, 2008.

1. Fritz I like fishing

Spokane, WA
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I have been fishing at Rock Lake for a few years now and have had only moderate success. My friend and I usually catch 1 to 3 fish each per day of fishing. I know that there are some very large Rainbows in Browns in this body of water. Our primary fishing techniques are trolling and stripping various nymph patterns on sinking flylines.

We usually fish green and black damselfly & minnow patterns, prince nymphs, crawfish patterns, & wolley buggers, generally size 2 to 10. Our presentation is either via a slow troll on sinking lines (rio deep 6&7s), or sometimes I cast to shore, let the fly sink to the bottom, & strip in quickly. We are currently planning on developing and testing some much larger patterns based off of steelhead minnow patterns and bunny leaches.

I am set on figuring this lake out. Despite not catching a ton of fish when I go there, I beleive that it can be done, large fish included. I intend to do this on a flyrod.

Is there anyone who has had better success at this lake or similar lakes? I would highly appreciate any input regarding patterns, sizes, & presentation. Are there any specific parts of the lake anyone recommends fishing more than others?

Thanks
  2. Keith Hixson Active Member

College Place, Washington
    Ratings: +55 / 0
    Rock Lake is an extremely large lake (as you know) and extremely large lakes means its more difficult to locate the trout just because of size. Probably need to get a fish finder and search. Once you find where they are bunched up, then you'll have success. Not a traditional fly fishing technique. I have relatives that live in the St. John area and fish the lake. (Gear Fishers) But their methods seem to work for them.

Keith
  3. ceviche Active Member

Shoreline, Washington, U.S.A.
    Ratings: +42 / 0