WTB Rod building tools

Discussion in 'Classifieds' started by adamfkimball, Aug 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. adamfkimball

adamfkimball New Member

I'm looking forward to building some fly rods this winter during the long nights. The only thing that has kept me from doing this in the past is the outlay for the tools. I know I don't need much but it does seem like a wrapper, reamers, and various other things will cost me $150-$200 new. I'm wondering if anyone out there has been building for awhile and now has more than they need?

If you have multiples of tools, an extra rod wrapper, etc - let me know. I'm happy to pay a fair price for the tools. I'd like to purchase 80% of the tools from one person to save shipping costs, but in the case of a rod-wrapper, I'd be interested in that alone, too.

Thanks,
    Adam

2. Steve Kokita

Steve Kokita FISHON206

Hey Adam,

I've been building rods for 23 years now and still use the same set-up I started with. I'm an old carpenter (and cheap) so I took a 3' piece of 2X6, added a 6" 2X4 with a V at each end (four sets of holes for different sized blanks) lined the V with felt and put a small piece of wood (screwed one side) on top to keep the blank from jumping out. For the wrapping thread, I used a piece of particle board with a couple of pieces of wood with a wood screw to hold the spool. Adjust the tension with the screw. For finishing the rods I use Flex Coat (high build) and use the 2X6 set up for holding the blank while the epoxy is setting up. Turn the blank every 15 minutes to prevent sag. Works for me....so far I've built 6 fiber glass, 30+ graphite, fixed a bunch and now re-do bamboo rods. Hope this helps, let me know if you need any other info.---Steve

P.S. With this inexpensive wrapper, you can spend more money on blanks and cool old reels!

3. marianigp

marianigp Member