rods and reels

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Ryan Nathe, Feb 20, 2006.

1. Ryan Nathe

Ryan Nathe Member

Media:
    I am new to the salt, still wet behind the ears, and I was wondering what you guys do to protect your salt gear. I have a St. Croix 5/6 weight I was thinking of taking out on the salt but I am worried about it getting damaged. IF you rinse your stuff after use can you use rods without an aluminum reel seat? Also I have an Abel, for steelhead and salmon but it is serious overkill for SRC and juvenile Coho. Can I use my battenkill?

2. Preston

Preston Active Member

All that's really necessary is a thorough rinse in fresh water at the end of the day. Sometimes I'll just drop my reel into a bucket of water for half-an-hour or so then shake it off, remove the spool and put it somewhere to dry for a day or two. I usually rinse off my rod then wipe it dry and put it away. I've been fishing the beaches for over ten years years now and have never had any corrosion-related problems

3. Porter

Porter Active Member

Battenkill...I don't see why not? I have used the Battenkill LA with no problems...Lamson is another story. St.Croix will be fine.

I use to just rinse very well with water after a salt trip...but I think it was ChadK or someone of his diminutiveness :clown: talked about soaking gear in a bucket of soapy water for a period of time then rinsing afterwards.....so that is what I have been doing the last couple of salt trips....and will continue this method.
    This topic was actually discussed not to long ago..do a search and you should find some helpful do's and don'ts.

4. Ringlee

Ringlee Doesn't care how you fish Moderator Staff Member

Media:
    Salt Away is another good product to use to get rid of saltwater. Drop a little bit of that along with Soap in bucket and let your reel soak. I see no problems with the rod and real you are using for salt. Sounds like a pretty stamdard rig for SRC's and Coho.
    Chris

5. ibn