Salmon Fishing in the rivers...

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by james.jimenez, Sep 4, 2012.

1. james.jimenez Active Member

South Korea
    Ratings: +159 / 0
    Please someone help. I am new to everything spey... Can someone please provide a few hints, tips, and or tricks on how to catch salmon in a river... I have tried the Nisqually butnhave only caught a trout or two.. I have a 12 spey a sinking tip and a floating... I have not even felt a salmon yet.. GRRRRRRR I have caught fish with my gear rod but want to get into one with this rod.... Thanks for all who can help.,.
  2. Luke77 I hope she likes whitefish

Yakima, WA
    Ratings: +220 / 0
  3. Salmo_g Active Member

Your City ,State
    Ratings: +1,391 / 0
    James,

Catching salmon in a river can be stupid easy or impossibly hard. Chinook are in the Nisqually now, and successfully fly fishing for them requires being in the right place at the right time. I don't fish the Nisqually for salmon, so I can't give you detailed help. You need to find a piece of water that is both prime chinook holding water AND suitable for swinging wet flies deep and slow, right next to the stones. A gaudy marabou streamer fly pattern will attract bites.

To know that you're fishing deep enough, you need to adjust your cast, line, and swing until you are hanging up on the river bottom, then back off a bit so that you're swinging your fly just above it. Chinook like a very slow swing passing right in front of their face.