Saltwater Reel For Sea-run Cutthroat

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Alex MacDonald, Mar 17, 2012.

1. I've got a new, stiff 6-wt coming, and have decided on a line, but am stumped over an adequate reel to use on my new sea-run setup. Any thoughts on a decent reel that doesn't cost an arm and a leg?

2. Try a Lamson Guru. Good reel, fair price. Konic is a little cheaper. Searching for a new reel is good fun.

3. I've been using a G Loomis Venture for a few years now in the salt and it's been a champ. Not too much $$ either.

4. I picked up a Guru 2.0 and it's a 5/6 reel. I plan to use it for the salt - it's a replacment for a cimmarron.

5. How about I loan you one to try? Leaderhosen land is far from the salt.

6. Thanks, Ed, and thanks to all of you as well. Good advice, and I think I'll go for a Konic-have one on my Spey rod already, and am happy with it. And yes, while it's probably about 4 hours' drive from here, I get the chance to take the new trailer and hit Doswallips or another nice campground. We've driven by the spots on the canal for years on our way to P.A., and the crossing to Victoria, and never been able to stay!

7. You might want to take into account spool prices too.Most guys have a few different lines set up on spools.

8. My SRC reel is a Ross CLA. Not the lightest or prettiest, but it will do the job.

9. Sir,

I just received a brand new Abel spey reel (clicker) to play with. Its just awesome and I don't know what they sell for, I think around $500. This reel would be perfect for what your fishing for.

Sea Level fly fising.com has some really killer reels that or a pretty close knock off of the famous ABEL reels for dirt cheap prices. Make sure you check them out before you buy anything, all of Sea Level's reels come with a lifetime warranty. I don't have anything to do with either company, just a suggestion. good luck.

Carl

10. Alex,

Ever been to Deception Pass S.P.?