Scadden rampage with frame, report..

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by golfman65, Oct 10, 2011.

1. golfman65

golfman65 Guest

So I'll start this with I'm no expert...I'm just a weekend warrior who gets a week off a year if he's lucky..guess that's what happens when you work and a have a family..and I wouldn't have it any other way....So after last years debacle with my watermaster I got back, sold it and got a used scadden rampage thanks to a tip from a fellow member!!!
    I put a scadden frame on it...oar locks, rod holders, rear deck...and used it this year on my trip..

What stands out? speed is much better, maneuverability is night and day...I fell in love with it my first day, fishing a tighter river and I had zero issues with getting around and through trouble spots..point the boat at it and row...your by it...on the big water rivers we found..it was even better!!!

I wasn't as fast as my two buds, but I was with them all day and not way behind...I gained experience with the boat and my appreciation grew as did my confidence....I didn't go looking for any big water, OK, I did a little bit...but I wasn't worried when it came or when I was day dreaming looking at the scenery and got in a bit of trouble...I was out of it with a few quick strokes..

The platform works on this boat with the seat 3/4 inflated...you can load it up and go on overnight trips easily....
    The faults of this set up are...it's to heavy as is...Dave (scadden) said he would trade me for and X boat which if he does I'll do, but I won't hold my breath as, well, things just don't happen like he says sometimes....I met and fished with one of the owners of trout fitters in Kelowna..great guys, great shop and I'll deal with them on it....