Schools

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by bhare, Oct 11, 2001.

1. bhare New Member

Island Pond, Vermont, United States.
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    Hey everyone
    I am a college student in Vermont, I was born and raised here and looking to get out of the state next year. I want to transfer to a school in the western U.S. I was hoping some of you could point me in the direction of some decent schools. I cant be somewhere where I wont have access to good trout water. I am pretty much asking if anyone knows of any schools that will give me access to good trout water while being close to a decent size city also. Any help is definately appreciated.
    Brendan
  2. guest Guest

There's Western Washington University (a small college with a big college flavor - sorta). They have a great teachers program and environmental science program. They also offer a "free school" approach - no the school isn't free but you can develop your own curriculm to some extent. And there's plenty of great fishing to be had, both salt and fresh.

I learned to flyfish around Bennington, VT many, many years ago. It's a different environment out here. BIG WATER! BIG FISHY!

Check out the schools in your college student services office as to curriculm, etc. Pretty near any school in the Northwest from Michigan to the West coast will have great fishing opportunities.

SR
  3. Woollyworm New Member

Seattle, WA, USA.
    Hi There,

Good to see posts from fellow Green Mountain staters on this board. I grew up in the Burlington area, lived in Manchester for a while--then moved to Seattle a coupla years back.

I'm not an expert on Washington schools, but I do know that Seattle is loaded with colleges. University of Washington in Seattle seems to have a stellar reputation across a wide range of fields.