SFR Kamado ceramic grill/smoker

Discussion in 'Camping, Hiking, Cooking' started by Mark Walker, May 31, 2009.

1. Anyone in our vast reach of knowledge have any experience/comment on this cooker?

2. No experience with that one. But i will say for that kind of money I would get a traeger
    instead.

3. The reason I inquired is I have the opportunity to pick up a "blue" ceramic tiled 18" diameter model with the extra "Gas" option, 4 cases of the charcoal and double SS rack "NEW" still in the crate, for $500 OBO.
    I have no personal cooking experience with them, although I've had some good food at a BBQ done on the "Big Green Egg". From what I've searched, the Kamado is superior in several ways.
    I was hoping someone here had one.

4. I have one. I'm still using how to use it, but it truly kicks ass. This is the best part, besides owning the thing. I put up a request on Freecycle to see if anyone had a spare BGE they wanted to give me, and someone offered me a kamado that their dad had brought back from Japan. So I have a nice, well-loved one, all terra cotta, and 100% free of charge.

5. I have been messing around with a Kamodo for thirty plus years. It finally started showing it's age and I replaced it with a Primo oval Jr. you can really mess up and still have a good meal. If you get it right, it a\can be unbelievably good.
    The big green egg is another kamodo brand.
    As for cost: my first kamodo cost $100.00 and lasted 30 years. My Nephew made me put this cooker in my will.
    If you get the cooker, be sure and use lump charcoal.

6. If this works, here are a couple of pics of the said "Kamado" cooker.

It's a toss up between this ($500 OBO) or a 7 foot bar with a built in "Traeger" Professional 124 BBQ, SS side burner, and SS Danby fridge (all less than a year old) for $2000 OBO.