Shad---Umatilla area

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by cmann886, Jul 3, 2013.

1. cmann886

cmann886 Active Member

After being disapppointed in the results of my last two trips below Ice Harbor, I've contemplated going below McNary. I live on the Wa side and find the Oregon licenses too expensive for a few hours of shad fishing. Has anyone ever had any luck for shad on the point slightly above the bridge on the WA side (water is probably too deep to fly fish) or some point down stream where I could bank fish for a few hours this weekend?

If I were to take a 15' smoker craft alaskan, can anyone give me advice on a good place to anchor and fish for shad? I am a novice to boat fishing and don't feel comfortable anchoring in fast water yet.

2. I can't help u on any of this, but I will say my sister married a wheat farmer in pendleton and too fish for 2-3 days is the price of my wa license for the year. Friggin ridiculous

3. Jim Ficklin

Jim Ficklin Genuine Montana Fossil

When the kids were small & I had a boat we would anchor or slowly back-troll on the Oregon side below the dam. The kids would run a wiggle-wart with a Dick Nite attached to the plug. I didn't fish on those trips; I was the master un-tangler/netter, but they caught Shad continually & I'd keep a few for Sturgeon bait. I suppose that you might be able to get down enough with a Hi-D sinking line. Tie-up short leaders with no more than 18" of lead core trolling line in the center section; slide back the sheath on each end & cut-out 1/4" of lead core. Run a pin thru the center of the sheath & out the side; thread your mono thru the hole & tie a nail knot. If you keep the entire leader under 3' it doesn't cast to badly with a 6 weight. Then use Shad patterns. Good luck.

4. cmann886

cmann886 Active Member

Thanks Jim---I am going to tie up a couple of leaders as you suggested.