Shewey-McNeese-Johnson Et Al Speys

Discussion in 'Patterns' started by Southsound, Feb 18, 2007.

1. Southsound Steve Cole - Nisqually and Adjacent Environs

South Puget Sound (again!), WA, USA
    Ratings: +4 / 0
    These are some patterns that I have been working on while studying the flies and techniques of Mr. Shewey, Mr. McNeese, and others. I have been experimenting with using double hackles of one color then another, trying to achieve contrasts that would work in different water. Anyway, it's been a great way to pass this winter. Critiques please...

BTW... I got a copy of John Shewey's Steelhead Flies for my birthday. All I can say it "Thank You!" and "Kudos!"... a great piece of work.

Regards

Steve Cole
    Tumwater WA
  2. Big Tuna Member

Wenatchee, Washington
    Ratings: +42 / 0
    Very nice ties...especially for a first-timer. I'm no spey expert, but you might lighten up on the spey hackle just a skosh. The mix of colors is great. I've messed around w/ speys a little and they didn't look nearly as nice as yours.:thumb:
  3. Hal Eckert Member

West GLs
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    Good work, and yes less is better I have learned on speys and many other types of flys.

:thumb:

BG
  4. Nooksack Mac Active Member

Bellingham, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +110 / 0
    I'm inclined to agree with Big Tuna. The "Wow!" factor with spey hackles comes from their fiber length, not from their density, which can be matched with saddle, schlappen, and other feathers. I usually strip one side of a spey feather stem, which makes it easier to see that multiple-stage body structure. Normally, I strip the side with the shorter and/or broken barbs. If stripping one side exposes white understem, I color it with a felt marker pen.

Your spey flies are well beyond beginner efforts. Your wings are better than most of mine.
  5. John Hicks Owner and operator of Sea Run Pursuits

Olympia
    Ratings: +182 / 1
    Very nice ties Steve
  6. Kevin Giusti New Member

Fort Bragg,Ca