Shorthair Pup

Discussion in 'Cast & Blast' started by Gertie's Pa, Jul 28, 2008.

1. Gertie's Pa

Gertie's Pa New Member

Bird hunting and fly fishing just seem to go hand in hand. I love doing both, collecting feathers on my own. About a year ago I said good by to a faithful shorthair I'd had for several years. He was 4 years old when I got him and had some prior training. My wife and daughter got a pup for me for Fathers Day from Taylor Mountain Kennels (I highly recommend them) and I absolutely love this dog. She is such a puppy, into everything and I'm enjoying it so much. I'm just beginning some basic command training with her, come, sit, stay. She's also pointing a wing. I do anticipate problems in training and would like some recommendations for training materials such as books or websites. I'll also be posting threads on this board to get input from you folks as well.

2. Gary Thompson

Gary Thompson dirty dog

Congrats on your new pointer.
    I have had a couple, but both were adults when I got them.
    A good friend got a German short hair as a pup and what a wild time for the first two years.
    He turned out to be a super dog.
    I broke in one of my goldens with this pointer and as they grew and hunted together, well all I can say is the roosters were in trouble.

3. Jake Bannon

Jake Bannon nymphs for steelhead....

Media:
    GSHs are known to be a little highstrung at young ages, we have two of them (one 12 and one 3) and both of them are amazing upland bird dogs. the book called "gun dog" is a great book, but its an older book. You may have to look on amazon to get one but it has everything one needs to know, from basics to full on hunting. Though if you just stick with the wing pointing and take her out a bit so she gets whistle commands you should be good to go unless you are super picky on commands.

Jake

4. TrappedinCO

TrappedinCO Help! I'm trapped in a landlocked state.

Media: