Single/Double hand rods

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by SGM SER, Aug 30, 2013.

1. SGM SER

SGM SER New Member

I will be hitting up the Olympic Peninsula this spring. I am a novice steelheader (2 under my belt) and only drift fished (rod/reel) previously for steelies. I am new to the single/double hand rod idea. If I can get some pros/cons and recommendations to help assist it would be greatly appreaciated. Also, if you could give recommendations of brand and where to purchase, that would be excellent.

Thanks
    SER

2. Jerry Daschofsky

Jerry Daschofsky Moderator Staff Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    People will really expand upon this. I go by two theories on the rods. Two handers=great for wading and riverside work, but crappy in boats. One handers=traditional rods, limited on banks, but awesome in boats. You banking it or boating it? I usually have both, though I don't use the two handers as much as I probably should (I'm old fashioned when it comes to using rods lol). So use my single handers mostly.

Recommendations on rods really depends on what your budget is. Where are you located? By your name I'd like to say JBLM/near the base, but that's not always the case if you're retired. That will help lead you to the right direction which shop to go to.

BTW, are you military? Active duty, retired, etc?

3. SGM SER

SGM SER New Member

Jerry,
    You must know I am a simple minded guy. I like your theories in ref. to two vs one handed rods, this helps, thank you. The guide service has recommended I bring both rod types, so I assume we will be doing both boating and banking, which now makes sense after your explanation. Frankly, I am trying to get away with purchasing one style rod but I understand the utility of having both.

I am currently in Afghanistan, still AD, stationed at JBLM. I moved out in the Gig Harbor area out on the KPN a year ago.

Help me out on the CH acronym...I can't seem to crack the code on that one.

SER

4. Get a switch rod