Single Foot SiC Guides

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by Southsound, Mar 3, 2004.

1. Southsound

Southsound Steve Cole - Nisqually and Adjacent Environs

I have been building fly rods for a couple of years now and have maintained what I guess would be a "traditionalist" approach to rod building in that I have stuck with snake type guides. I received a very sweet G&L Flycraft (out of Alberta) rod for my birthday that was built using the newer single foot SiC guides from Fuji. I wonder - what are the advantages with using these guides? I know they are spendy so there must be something special about them. Anybody else with experience using these guides? Thanks - Steve

Hope is that Thing with Feathers..

2. Roper

Roper Idiot Savant

The thing about SiC guides is that they are really tough and slick. They shine in rods that get a lot of casting and retrieving. I doubt you could ever wear a groove in one. On the retrieve they also help because they have so little friction (saves line wear). They weight no more than snake guides because they have only one foot to epoxy. Granted, they look odd, but they are really bullet-proof, and now come in a variety of colors, even holographic ones. Commercial rod builders have always used them for stripping guides, so why not use them all the way up the rod, including the tip?

Try it, you'll like it...

Roper,

Good things come to those who wade...

3. IveofIone

IveofIone Active Member