single handed vs double handed...

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by francis james hunnycut, Jul 9, 2012.

1. Okay, so I am a bit of a newb to steelhead. I've only been swinging for them for the past couple of seasons, and the more I swing with other cats the more spey rods I see. Seems like everyone is swinging the "big stick". So really, why? What are the benefits? It looks to me like maybe it is less work, but in all honesty if I wanted to do things the easy way I would be throwing a baitcaster. Is that the only benefit to swinging a spey? it's an awful lot of money for a guy like me to get setup to fish in this fashion, and I need to be able to present a solid argument to myself as to why I would spend that kind of cheddar. It sure looks cool, I'll say that much. The guys in the fly shop totally recommend that I go spey, but of course they are gonna do that, it is their job to sell me stuff! I was just hoping for some solid feedback on the pros and cons of the big stick to help me decide whether or not spey casting is for me. I will tell you that I enjoy slangin my single handed 8w, and as I have yet to catch a chromer on it, I am reticent to just jump to the next fad because everyone else is doing it. Any advice/info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys. Keep em tight.