Skagit Spey Casting

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by atrout, Nov 1, 2005.

1. atrout New Member

King Salmon, Alaska
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    Looking for a name(s) of someone who can teach a complete novice the basics of Skagit style Spey casting.

Thanks

Alex in King Salmon
  2. Rob Zelk I swing, therefore i am.

Steelhead Central
    If you check out the spey pages they have tons of info on the subject to get started. But you know you can only really Skagit cast if your fishing the Skagit River ;)
  3. Shazam New Member

If you do check out the spey pages there is a short interview with Mike Kinney regarding "Skagit" spey casting or more aptly "Skagit" style "fishing"
    Having said that, I have been fortunate in being able to take a lesson with Mike and various other notables. Learned a ton--but the conclusion I came to is there is a myriad of casting styles that have the same result--huckin' some line--what might work for me may not work for someone else or visa versa. At the end of the day I mainly rely on 4 casts that cover any situation I might encounter. The best advice I can give a novice--from experience--is when you go fishing leave the single hander at home and try to go fishing with someone who has a good grasp of the basics and will spend a little time with you. It took me about a year to really get it down. And by no means am I a pro--I'm learning all the time and there are days when I just ain't got it--then the next day I'm the king of the world. Go figure.
  4. Steelie Mike Active Member

Camas, WA
    Ratings: +24 / 0
    Wow there are now two Steelie Mike's out there. Scary! :beer1:
  5. Dale Dennis Formally Double-D

Arlington, WA
    Ratings: +5 / 0