Skykomish Dollies

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by jmara6864, Aug 26, 2014.

1. Saw something I have never witnessed before on the Sky last week. A big pod of Dolly Varden in a small hole. There were about 20-25 of them from 18-30 inches in length. They were mostly staying put but would occasionally chase each other and make high speed runs toward the shallow back end of the hole and then dart back to the deeper water. I tried in vain for a while to get one to bite. Streamers, nymphs you name it I tried it and no takers. I have never tried to target Dolly before. I hear streamers are the way to go? Has anyone seen this behavior before? Does anyone feel like sharing their techniques for catching them?

2. This one ate a dead-drifted mega prince on the Sky.

[​IMG]

Kyle Smith likes this.
  3. They were hiding from Ryan hung.

4. Awesome!

5. Are you sure they weren't suckers?

the_chemist and bhudda like this.
  6. nymph a stonefly right in to them.

But isn't it illegal to target Dollys?

7. Not on the Sky- 20" minimum to jeep

8. The rule of thumb was that Labor day was a good time to fish for dollies in the Suiattle. Should work for the Sky also.

9. Sounds like you stumbled upon a pod of pre-spawn bull trout. This time of year it is common for groups of them to stage in the better holding areas near spawning areas during which time they behave much like you have described. Depending on the size of the spawning population and the amount and quality of holding habitat at or below the spawning grounds it is common to see staging groups of those bull trout number from a handful to 50 or more individuals. Those fish are pre-spawn fish that are waiting until the water temperature drops sufficiently for spawning to begin. It the case of the Skykomish that will be 6 to 10 weeks from now.