smoothing over knot connecting fly line to leader butt

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing Forum' started by toadthedry, Oct 12, 2002.

1. toadthedry Member

bainbridge island, wa, usa.
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I like to tie a nail knot to connect my fly line to a 18 inch butt section, then i use a blood knot to connect the butt section to the butt of the leader. ( I have used the pre made loops and do not like them)- My question - What methods do people have good success with to get the knots to go smoothly through the guides (ie put aquaseal on knots etc)

thanks
  2. Old Man Just an Old Man

Dillon, Mt
    Ratings: +1,653 / 0
    What do I know---I'm just an old man

I don't use anything as about the only time the knots go thru the guides is when I'm just starting out or when I catch something but lately I haven't had anything on long enough to reel up my line. But aqua seal is a good one to use. But it takes just a little while to dry before you use it.

As for the loops, I've been kinda steering myself to them as when you go to a multi-tip line is that they are there. Also if you use those sinking type leaders they also have the loops. Never used to like them but change is coming.

Jim
  3. Sean Beauchamp Hot and Heavy at yer 6

Shoreline, WA, U.S.
    Ratings: +465 / 1
    just remember, throw 'em back

i have used super glue. it reinforces the knot as well as smoothing it over. its cheap too, only a dollar or two at a craft store. somone told me that it will eat your line. i havent had one problem and i use it on every knot i tie, anyone had trouble?
  4. pwoens Active Member

Spokane, Washington, USA.
    Ratings: +5 / 0