So close, but yet so far... What gives?!

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Ybsong, Oct 4, 2012.

1. Windy day down in the South Sound yesterday. Learned that Penrose is closed, and will be for a while until they install a new sewage system. So headed over to my favorite SRC spot on Case Inlet. Caught a few nice 14" cutts on the outgoing tide. A nice confidence booster, so headed over to a park in on Hood Canal at low tide to see if I could try my luck with some silvers. Note: I have yet to catch a sizable silver on my fly rod, so I'm an undrafted rookie when it comes to salmon fishing. This is a shallow muddy beach just outside where the creek runs into the Canal. As soon as I get there, I see huge fish launching themselves into the air like dolphins in water that looks at most 5 feet deep. Every 5 minutes or so, SPLASH! My hearts pounding, and I could have sworn, I made eye contact with one of the fish while it flew into the air. If it could, it would have winked at me.

For the next hour and a half, I went through my fly box. Pink and Chartreuse Clousers, some long, some short. Then tried my bigger SRC flies: Atomic Prawns, Crazy Charlies,Woolly Buggers, Glass Minnows, Sandlance, Sculpin. I tried all kinds of stripping techniques: hyper fast strips to slow with pauses. Tried long strips, to short. Smooth and herky jerky. At one point, I even tried to dead drift. The slower the strips, the more sculpin I caught. The fish just kept on jumping, and I didn't get a single bite. It was maddening. And the gale force winds just added to the tragic drama. Every now and then, I'd see a big shadow fly by my feet like a jet. I could have done better with a harpoon than my fly rod.