spey casting help in portland area

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by liltanker32, Aug 4, 2013.

1. liltanker32

liltanker32 Member

hey all

i am looking for someone to help me with my spey casting. i am just getting into the game and really wanna learn this art. if your in portland and would be willing to help hit me up please. i am in oregon city to be exact. if your close lets hit the clack and help me learn. thanks

2. macSuibhne

macSuibhne Member

Ron Lauzon up in Sandy (www.flyfishspey.com) is a certified spey casting instructor. That means he can not only teach you what to do and what is the correct technique...he can also analyze what you're doing wrong--that's part of the certification requirements.

I took lessons from him when, after repeated emails and phone calls over the course of 6-9 months, I couldn't get even a response from one instructor who is quite well known, with Youtube videos, etc..

Ron helped me "break through". Not a small thing.

And he is a nice guy.

3. Randall Clark

Randall Clark Active Member

Media:
    From what I've heard first hand, Matt McCrary is top notch. (Steelhead Outfitters)

Cheers

4. liltanker32

liltanker32 Member

I just gave matt a call, waiting for a call back hope this is gonna cost an arm and a leg

5. liltanker32

liltanker32 Member

well ive called matt mccrary three times in a week and left messages all three and no response. i guess he either isnt doing lesson or something. gues ill call his partner sam back and go up to hood river for a lesson. hope he will give me a break on the price for having to drive.

6. shanem

shanem New Member

I know you booked something out in Hood River but for future reference check out the Flyfishing Shop in Welches, right off hwy 26 on the way up to Mt Hood. Travis and several others out there are phenomenal.

www.flyfishusa.com

Their website isn't the best around but the shop and staff are great.

Shane

fredaevans and surfnsully like this.
  7. John Hicks