Spey casting help...

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by mtp1032, Jul 4, 2002.

1. mtp1032

mtp1032 New Member

Well, I finally broke down and bought a spey rod (14'), reel, and a multitip line (Windcutter). Along with the purchase the shop threw in a spey casting video. I ran through the video 3 times and took copious notes.

So far so good. Looked easy

Got to the river (Stilly) and the water level was great, but the clarity was milky, visibility down to maybe a foot and a half. So, I put on the sink tip.

That's when I realized that the video shows this guy casting light, floating tips these enormous distances. I had a few good casts, but by a large, I was floundering. :BLUSH

What does one do differently when casting heavy sink tips compared to much lighter floating tips? Is it a timing issue? Does one set the anchor differently? Something else?

I'm very new to spey casting, so don't assume I even know how to ask this question correctly.

Thanks in advance,

Michael

P.S. Saw one other fisherman. He had caught a couple of small dollies.

2. Preston

Preston Active Member

Videos are helpful, but they're not a panacea. Don't expect to become a good speycaster overnight; try a full floater and practice, practice, practice. You should be able to fish most of the summer and fall with the floater and by that time you should have the timing down well enough to begin to adapt it to fishing the heavy heads that will be necessary come winter. If you can afford a lesson or two it might advance the process considerably.

3. Jerry Daschofsky

Jerry Daschofsky Moderator Staff Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    practice, practice, and get HELP

I'm using a spey myself. I'm FAR from proficient with the rod. But I've had some help, and has given me a bit more insight on what I've done wrong with casting. I think I may eventually break down and get paid instruction. The videos are great, but I'm a type that helps to actually have someone critique me.