Spey Casting Videos

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Kevin Harris, Jan 21, 2003.

1. Kevin Harris New Member

Bothell, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    Hi All,

I'm new to casting a Speyrod. I bought my first Speyrod two weeks ago from River Run Anglers (Great outfit BTW). Its a Heritage 1510 slow action rod which I hear is good for beginners. The store owners have been very helpful in giving me pointers about casting and I plan on attending the Spey Clave this Saturday to learn from accomplished Spey casters/fishermen. My question to you folks is can you recommend any videos/DVDs about Spey casting that I could either buy or get from the library so I can watch them when I'm not on the water? I'm saving my money for a three day school with Derek Brown this next September. I'm sure that that will be the best instruction one can get but its 8 months off and I want to be able to cast 50 feet plus consistently in about a month or two. So any information or instruction will be a definite plus.

Thanks in advance,

Kevlar
  2. Porter Active Member

Kenmore, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +530 / 0
    Mel Kreiger Spey Casting....his video is about an hour long and covers in good detail the basics and also a couple fancy twists.......check out a near by Fly Fishing store ...some rent videos for a couple bucks.

WHUMP WHUMP
  3. Preston Active Member

Ratings: +474 / 0
    Derek Brown's Spey Masterclass. A great video once you're able to translate from the Scottish (don't tell me those people speak English). Just kidding, of course, but he does have a bit of a brogue.
  4. Matt Burke Active Member

Kenmore
    Ratings: +69 / 0
    Not to brag, but I have them all. You will only need International spey casting and Derek Brown's. The others are OK, but it's those two I play over and over.