SRC Patterns

Discussion in 'Fly Tying' started by Tom Grobelny, Feb 17, 2005.

1. Tom Grobelny

Tom Grobelny Member

I will be camping at Dosewallaps State Park on Hood Canal this weekend with my family, I decided to give SRC fishing a try for the first time. I tried my hand at some simple streamer flies and was inspired by some of the reverse spiders that I have seen on this site.

Since I will be fishing in the salt, I thought that the spider pattern would not be effective there, but I liked the idea of the increased action of the reversed hackle. I incorporated that idea on one of the chartreuse streamers by adding some red artic fox tail in a reversed hair hackle at the head of the fly. I am hoping that it might look like a bloody bait fish.

I also tied some more normal flies just in case. Take a look at the attached photo, the “bloody bait fish” is on the top right. I will give it a try this weekend, but since this is my first time fishing for SRC’s my testing will probably not be worth much.

Attached Files:

2. Bob Triggs

Bob Triggs Your Preferred Olympic Peninsula Fly Fishing Guide

I would give myself more credit if I were you. Those are some pretty nice looking flies indeed. Maybe a few of the heads could be tighter and smaller, but they will all catch fish no doubt. The Spiders, in all of their forms, will work great in saltwater. So will Stimulators, Elk Hair caddis and wooly buggers!

3. Trevor

Trevor New Member

Good looking flies! They will work great. I would also throw out small clousers and decievers as a couple of favorites for SRC.

Trevor

4. Davy

Davy Active Member

Bob would know or not-- I have heard a black spider with an elongated white marabou tail works great. Just about any fly with the white marabou tail added works good. What says Bob?

Davy

5. Anil

Anil Active Member