SRC this weekend?

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Fishful Thinking, Feb 23, 2006.

1. So, I've been flyfishing for over 20 years, but am new to the area and am interested in learning about some of the costal fishing opportunities here. Is anyone going this weekend who would be willing to let me tag along and pick up a few pointers? I'll bring lunch.:D

2. C'mon, guys - 79 views and not a single response? I'm not looking to scoop anyone's hot spot or secret fly, just a little help for a searun newb. I'll drive, buy lunch, etc., and promise not to reveal any secrets.

3. Hi Fishful,
    Your best bet would be to search through the threads here in the Salt board. I've only been out for SRC a couple times myself, but I've found all the most useful info by just using the search function. I would give you some more in depth tips, but I don't really have any yet. There's also a really good article in the articles section. Hope you have better luck than I have lately.
    Cheers and good luck,
    Jason

4. I find this sad that no one is willing to help this guy out. I would love to but I am going sampling all day on Lake Samish on Sun., because of that it puts a lot of work for me to do on Sat. so I won't be getting out this weekend. Another reason is that I am in Bellingham, and I really don't have to much experience fishing for SRC's in the salt, but I am trying to learn as much as I can. I love SRC's, probably my favorite fish. I hope you find someone to at least go out with. If nothing else grab you map, food, and some clousers and hit the beach. I would also suggest to head into some flyshops, ask around. One of my favorite fly shops down around there is Creekside Angling, they are in Issaquah and Seattle. I haven't been into the Seattle one because I moved up here before that store opened but the guys in there are great.

I hope you have a good time and good luck,
    Sly