Stansport Outfitter stoves

Discussion in 'Camping, Hiking, Cooking' started by IveofIone, Feb 20, 2010.

1. IveofIone

IveofIone Active Member

I am beginning the laborious task of picking out a new 2 burner propane camp stove and this model caught my eye. With 2-25,000 btu burners it more than doubles the output of a Coleman selling at the same price point. One of the things I am looking for is a unit that will accommodate my Coleman fold-up oven. I have been using the same stove for 42 years now but the oven really never fit on it square. It is time to upgrade.

Does anyone own one of these or have experience with it? What are the pros/cons of this brand? It is apparent that they heat fast with all those btu's but what are their other attributes?

Thanks for your input, Ive

2. LMFOA

LMFOA New Member

Stansport is a price point driven brand that works with several factories in China to come up with their line. In most cases the goods are stock factory offering, with maybe a few tweaks. That does not make them good, or bad, since many brands do the same.

3. Jerry Daschofsky

Jerry Daschofsky Moderator Staff Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    Only big problem I see is the size of the burners. Nothing wrong with them actually, but you'd HAVE to have a bulk tank for it. You'd chew up a small screw in tank pretty fast with that many BTU's. Why Camp Chef uses smaller BTU elements in their Mountain series (basically the same stoves, just tweaked as well for them).

It looks good. Nothing wrong with it really. I'm thinking of getting one of the mountain series to put in my driftboat (they have models with built in grills to do steaks on and then open burners with it to do coffee or a pot of beans).

Now, is this model your max pricerange? Just curious if there's a reason you want smaller?

4. Michael Nelson

Michael Nelson Old And In The Way

Home Page: