steelhead books

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Omar Quiroga, Jun 13, 2007.

1. Omar Quiroga

Omar Quiroga Member

As some of you know i just started fly fishing about two months ago. I decided to start going after trout in lakes so i can learn how to cast. The main reason i wanted to learn to fly fish was to target steelhead. As I am new to fly fishing i thought it might be good if i bought a book on how to fish for steelhead so now this is where i need your help. What ways can you point me to getting started as to selecting flies, and technics. I thought I should start with a book so i can do some homework so do any of you have any books you would recomend? Thanks for all your help.
    Omar

2. Salmo_g

Salmo_g Active Member

Media:
    Steelhead Flies and Fishing by Trey Combs
    Steelhead Fly Fishing (or words to that effect, sorry, I can't lay my hands on it at the moment) by Deke Meyer
    Dry Line Steelhead by Bill McMillan (out of print)

Study those, then to add some flavor to the mix, get your hands on the steelhead books written by Bob Arnold, Doug Rose, Roderick Haig-Brown, and oh, some others whose names don't come readily to mind at the moment.

3. Jake Smulkowski

Jake Smulkowski Throwing hoppers into baetis falls

Media:
    Home Page:
    Omar-
    I'm a big fan of the "Advanced Fly Fishing for Steelhead" by Deke Meyer. I sure wish I could grow a decent moustache, because all of the nicest fish in that book are being held by guys with sweet ones.

4. FLGator

FLGator Member

There are two books that I consider essentials in any steelhead library:

Steelhead Fly Fishing by Trey Combs
    A Passion for Steelhead by Dec Hogan

In my opinion, these are the two 'bibles' of steelheading. Both are available through the Red Shed Fly Shop and well worth every penny.

5. o mykiss

o mykiss Active Member