Steelhead Caviar... here we go again!

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Evan Burck, Aug 19, 2010.

1. My fiance forwarded this too me out of concern this morning. She received it in one of her "Daily Candy" emails:

Seatown Snack Bar
    What: Celebrity chef Tom Douglas opens his sixth restaurant, a two-in-one venue with a casual to-go counter and sit-down service, right next to Etta’s in Pike Place Market.
    Why: Porchetta sandwiches, Neah Bay steelhead caviar, crab six ways, and your favorite baked goods from Dahlia Bakery.
    When: Daily, 8 a.m.-11 p.m.
    Where: 2010 Western Ave. (206-436-0390).

Anyone know anything about this, and what their source is? I'm no scientist, but a market for wild steelhead caviar would not bode well for our fish populations.

2. "Neah Bay steelhead caviar"

I thought the eggs formed after they left the salt.

3. If you call them "Nea Bay" then you don't to list the river of origin.

My call to the number got to Dave. I did not discuss the menu but asked for a web site or contact email. He referred me to http://tomdouglas.com/ as it will be a couple to three weeks before Seatown is fully up on the internet. I'll go there and look around. Maybe you'll do the same. Since they are just starting out maybe they'll be receptive to requests to delete a menu item? I'll send mine from home when I get back.