Steelhead fishing class

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by chk, May 13, 2004.

1. chk New Member

Seattle, WA.
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I received the North Seattle CC mailing the other day and saw that they are offering a steelhead fishing class.

I am new to fly fishing and have only fished for trout with mixed results and want to give steelhead a try. I wanted to get your opinion on this class and whether you or someone you know has taken this class and if it is worth it. Would the Dennis Dickenson steelhead school be a better use of my time and money?

Here is a link to the class description: http://at-campus.net/nsccsched/index.html?print=/nsccsched/output/course_333.htm

thanks,
  2. Peter Pancho Active Member

Gig Harbor,WA
    Ratings: +8 / 0
    My honest opinion is don't do it. Looks like the class is a combonation fly and gear class. Why stand around for 30min with your fly rod waiting for the teacher to finish talking about how to catch Steelies with gear?
    Pay the extra 75.00 and do a REAL Steelhead FLYFISHING ONLY school with none other than the BEST Dennis Dickson. Not only will you be there for his knowledge, but also you will be in pontoons floating awesome rivers and be in a Flyfishing Steelhead environment and not wasting time listening on how to put live bait or eggs on a hook.
    Ask any flyfisher thats been to his classes and 10 out of 10 would say this class is the Best.http://flyfishsteelhead.com/skyschool.htm
    Good luck!
    PS, I might even take a class here in the near future, even though I've already guided with him. You can never have too much knowledge, especially on Flyfishing for Steelhead!

Peter ><>

Mark 12:30-31
  3. Matt Burke Active Member

Kenmore
    Ratings: +69 / 0