Steelhead flies: Color choice for water conditions???

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by unrooted, Jan 5, 2011.

1. unrooted

unrooted Member

I've been seeing contradicting info about color choices for clear water. I have been using really bright flies in clear water and high-contrast flies in dirty water (black and white). Is this right? I've seen suggestions for natural colors in clean water and bright colors in dark waters. What do you guys use??? Do steelhead actually go for flies nowadays, or just eggs???

2. Nate Dutton

Nate Dutton I'm a teacher, I fish to eat!

Media:
    Have confidence in whatever fly you use is my best advice which i received from Dec Hogan. Make sure you brush up on your presentation before you worry too much about changing flies. Read A Passion for Steelhead by Dec Hogan.....an AMAZING read, will change you as a fisherman, it did me! :) As a guide line, if its clear low water I got to smaller darker or drab colors, muddy waters i got to bigger flies color will vary.

3. stilly stalker

stilly stalker Tuna sniffer

a black fly is a good bet...ANYTIME! As is purple in my opinion. The vast majority of my flies I fish use black or purple as a base color, and have accent colors like chartreuse, blue or fuschia. Orange is another great color, and I use it on brighter days. White and pink are also excellent colors, and I like to combine the two, and again use them mostly on bright days.

4. unrooted

unrooted Member

So black, blue, purple, orange, fuchsia, chartreuse, white and pink. SO avoid red???

5. stilly stalker

i wouldnt avoid it at all. but after years of fishing and catching most of my fish on the colors I mentioned, I pretty much gave up tying in other colors.

I am tying more natural colored stuff lately using more natural, instead of synthetic materials though. Ginger is a kick ass color. And Im doing a ginger/orange combo that I will fish with confidence for sure.

6. speyday

speyday Rod tubes in the overhead compartment