Steelhead line.

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by die_ziege, Oct 31, 2002.

1. die_ziege

die_ziege New Member

Just about to buy my first 8wt reel for steelheading (never been). What sort of line should I get for it? Intermediate sink? Just starting out, so I won't have an additional spool for a while, I'm just looking suggestions on the best type of line to start out on, the most universally accepted steelhead line...

Thanks guys,

Ian

2. pwoens

pwoens Active Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    I am by no means an expert but what I have been learning is obviously it all depends on the circumstances and the fishing situations. Kind of a general trend I have seen is that the so called "a run" use a floating line. The "b run" use a sink tip and get down as fast as you can. The "b run" generally runs winter time and the "a run" in late summer sometimes up to late fall. I have not caught a steelie yet but have learned a ton just being out there fishing for them, reading posts, and asking questions on this website.

BTW: I just bought 3 reddington rs2 7/8 reels for 45.00 each and love it so far. They are a little heavy but I dont notice when Im fishing. Watch ebay for good deals on them. I also picked up a reddington 8 wt rod for 100.00. It retailed for 280.00 and was brand new. Also I got a buddy who picked a ton of different scientific angler mastery series line that he is selling for $25.00. If you want I can give you his email and phone number.

~Patrick

3. Duck

Duck New Member

Ian,

No expert myself having only started, but if you are going to make the investment in a line, a multitip system would be a good bet. Getting the fly near the bottom is important, but sometimes to much sink is a problem. I believe airflo and rio make excellent multi tip systems. I use a custom made multi tip system and it sure is nice to be able to go lighter or heavier depending on the day, run etc.

4. Surf_Candy

Surf_Candy Member

Media: