Steelhead question

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by pwoens, Nov 12, 2003.

1. pwoens

pwoens Active Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    My old man has been going for 3 years now of solid steelhead fishing with absolutley nothing to show for it, except a ton of frustration. Im sure a few of you can relate so I put out this question to the veterans.

How many of you run or have ran an indicator for steelhead with a weighted bug instead of a weighted line/sinking head? I was thinking it might be easier for an inexperienced steelheader to run an inidcator off a floating line to a weighted bug with or without split shot to increase the odds of catching a steelhead. This would eliminate the need for the "feel" that it takes to sense these subtle strikes.

What do you think and what are your experiences? Thanks.

~Patrick ><>

2. Now I am not experienced by any means, (4 hooked, 1 landed, all on dries, all in a one week period this summer) and I go every chance I get. I try to match the set-up to the situation. I run an indicator on small water (Tucannon, Pilchuck) and for water that wont produce the best swing, i.e. slow water, pockets with back eddies and narrow slots of good water. That is what I have done, and would love to hear some feedback from the "seasoned vetrans" also as to what they do to get the results that I dont get, yet.

3. KerryS

KerryS Ignored Member

Media:
    Albums:
    I have been fishing for steelhead for a number of years now and have been lucky enough to catch more then my share. Most of the steelhead I have hooked have slammed the fly. There was nothing subtle about it. This is one of the reasons I prefer to swing flies for steelhead. The violent strikes this method seems to elicit.

I don't know what to say that might increase your dad's chances of hooking up. But, I really don't think his lack of hook ups is because of the method he is using.

4. pwoens

pwoens Active Member

Media:
    Home Page:
    Hey Kerry,