Steelhead rod length question

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by Jim Fitz, Sep 4, 2005.

1. I am going to build a SH rod and am trying to decide between a 9' and 10'. What are the pros and cons? Will the 10' increase my casting distance without sacraficing strength? Is the added weight not worth any casting benefit? Is there not much difference between the two? I am new to SH fishing for the most part.

Don't tell me to just get spey rod because I am going to do that too.

I am going to build this on a Dan Craft FT 8 weight blank (3 or 4 piece?). I posted the same question on rodbuilding.org but started thinking as I typed that it is more of a fishing question as opposed to a rod building question.

All opinions brief or otherwise welcome.

Thanks,

Jim

2. I like a 9" 8 weight for salmon and steelies. Is is the action I like the best. The bigger rods are to cumbersom and are not werth the length. I'll never use a spey poll. I love the action to much to change. (Sorry I ment 9'6". I call it 9')

3. 9'6" or 10' in my opinion. Extra length means better line control and giant-mending which are critical factors when Steelheading.
    Distance is not all that important, 90% of all fly caught Steelhead is within 50'.

My primary rig is a 10' 8wt 4pc GLX. Good luck!

4. I agree with Steel. 10' rods are a great tool for rivers. If you nymph at all, they are great for roll casting, mending, lob casting, and the extra length also plays a fish well.

5. Go with the 10" for the same reasons steel said. I got a 7w 10" avid I fish and I love it for salmon and steelhead!

6. I don't think that I have ever seen 9" fly rod. But the action on it has got to suck.

But I use a 9'6" 8wt which on it I use the Rio versitip line. I kind of like the extra 6" on the rod.

Jim