Stillwater with floating line

Discussion in 'Stillwater' started by Jake Tucker, Sep 29, 2008.

1. I'm new to fly fishing lakes, and I've been reading about how trolling leech patterns is usually a go-to tactic. Right now I only have a floating line, and have been unsuccessful in a handful of trips where I trolled leech patterns. I also thrown some muddlers our there, but I'm having a hard time to get them to go down. Y'all have any tips for a lake-nube?

2. Padawan,

I am a lake newbie as well but I have gotten some good advice from several people that are old veterans and also gotten some good advice from WFF.

The following article from here should give you some starter tips.

http://www.washingtonflyfishing.com...ng__Having_a_Game_Plan_by_Tyler_Laurenti.html

Read the second article in that series as well as it builds on what is learned in the first article.

Because of budget, I only have a floating line as well so I will share what I do that has been fairly successfull for me.

I use a long leader and tippet. My setup so far is a approximately 7 foot long tapered leader, ~4 feet of 12 lb test tippet, and then finally ~4 feet of 6 lb test tippet which I tie my flies to. That gives me around 15 feet of leader. When fishing a wooly bugger and I want to get it down fairly deep, I use a bead head version and then place two splitshots on the 12lb test line. This setup worked really well the other night and I got 4 fish in about 45 minutes in the last hour of daylight.

Color can be very important sometimes. Earlier this spring I was fishing a black wooly bugger in Rattlesnake and a friend was fishing a thin mint and he had 3 on to my none when he graciously gave me a thin mint to try. In 5 minutes I had my first fish on. If they aren't keying in on the color you are giving them, try another color.