Streamtech Boat

Discussion in 'Watercraft' started by John Hicks, Apr 18, 2012.

1. Well, I finally did it. James Mello and I have been sharing an old Achillies raft for the past two years. It was a "bucket boat" (non self-bailing). I loved the boat but it was a tank in the water. So recently I decided to go out and find another rig to get me down the river in. I did a lot of research on rafts, and finally settled on a Streamtech Salmonfly. After quite a few conversations with Link Jackson the owner of Streamtech and with Derek Young who owns one, I decided on the Salmonfly. The raft is a 13'6" selfbailing Maravia with a Cambridgeworks frame. I love that I was able to totally customise the raft to me need but still have Link there to tell me what works and what does not.

So after waiting for a couple weeks to have mine built, the Wife and I drove to Oregon to meet Link part way to take delivery. This was great as her and I decided to stay in Hood River that night. I got to talk with Link for a while and get the low down on my new raft.

I chose to have two dry boxes, one under the front seat and a cooler box just to the front and to the right of the oarsmans seat. This weekend I took the raft out on its maided voyage and named her the SS Vincent after my father who passed away last summer. She took some nice white water very well. I loved the high rocker front as it really rolled through the wave trains instead of punching through. The dry boxes were able to hold a shit ton of gear which was awesome. The raft turns super easy and tracks very smoothly. I was able to even back row on a couple areas which are no easy task in a raft.

I will post more pictures in this thread as the customasation progresses. I have already decided that I need some rod holder options so if anyone knows of some let me know.

salmonfly.JPG salmonfly2.JPG salmonfly.JPG

JesseCFowl and Ed Call like this.
  2. Congrats! Looks like you made a great choice and I am sure you will love it.