Sugar And Baking?

Discussion in 'Camping, Hiking, Cooking' started by dryflylarry, Mar 18, 2012.

1. dryflylarry "Chasing Riseforms"

Near the Fjord
    Ratings: +563 / 0
    Ok. I'm a rookie baker/cook here. I just made some high calorie banana bread and, oh my, the smell is overwhelming as I wait for it to cool! So, my diet is toast right now doing crazy baking like this, but, how do you cut back on the sugar in such an item as banana bread, or, whatever? The recipe called for 1 cup, but it was suggested to cut back to 3/4 cup. But folks, that is a lot of sugar in my system!!!! Geesus! I suppose I could have cut it to 1/2 cup and it would be fine? Any cooks out there with advice besides avoiding the sweet stuff but a way to cut back on the sugar such as in this banana bread I am about to devour and still have it taste good? Do you just use "Equal" or such for this? (Rookie here!) Thanks pals.
  2. Jerry Daschofsky Moderator

Graham, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +656 / 5
    I'll see if I can find my book. You can add honey and a few other more "natural" sugars that your body can process and handle better.
  3. NewTyer1 Banned or Parked

Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
    Ratings: +29 / 1
    Use either unrefind sugar like cane or even apple sauce
  4. Jerry Daschofsky Moderator

Graham, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +656 / 5
    NewTyer1, any cane, beet, and corn sugar (even in it's raw state) is tough on the body to break down. Natural sugars (like 100% fruit juices, honey, real maple syrup, etc) are "naturals". I know there are a few other ways to substitute, can't find the book I have that has all of it in it. Just know if you use honey or any juices, you subtract some of your "liquids" to compensate for baking. Do know with Honey you use a very small amount, since the sugar content is condensed.
  5. Alex MacDonald Dr. of Doomology

Haus Alpenrosa, Lederhosenland
    Ratings: +870 / 0