Switch Line Advice

Discussion in 'Steelhead' started by brklynELKchaser, Dec 6, 2013.

1. brklynELKchaser New Member

Shelton
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I recently purchased my first switch rod and I am new to the game. I am looking for a versatile line that I can swing flies and nymph with and I am wondering what lines people prefer. I have heard Wulff Ambush is a good all around line but I know there are many others as well.
  2. Pat Lat Mad Flyentist

Des Moines
    Ratings: +818 / 0
    for close quarter nymphing the wulff will work but you might want something with a longer head for mending. It is nearly impossible to mend the wulff line when you have out more than 30 foot of line. it is essentially a skagit taper and you'd be better off with rio switch line or speydicator, or the airflow/any other brand equivalent
  3. doublespey Steelhead-a-holic

Bothell, WA
    Ratings: +22 / 0
    IMO, you won't find an "all around" line that does everything well. If you're predominantly going to be swinging with floating/sinking polyleaders or light tips, either the Airflo Rage or Wulff Ambush would be good lines. If you're going to nymph, get a dedicated (Speydicator or Rio Switch) line for that. T10-14 tips and big flies, go with a Airflo Skagit Switch.

Switch rods have lead to the development of specialty lines because they require task-specific lines to be effective. Use for comparison a 13' 7wt spey, for which you can buy a Airflo Delta that will cover everything from tips and big flies, nymphing, and summer fishing with floating tips and small flies. There is nothing comparable for a switch rod.
  4. Randall Clark Active Member

Orygun
    Ratings: +215 / 0
    I'd just get two spools, one with an Ambush or a Skagit short or something similar and the other with something like the Rio Switch or Orvis Switch...lines designed more for nymphing.