Tennis (elbow) anyone?

Discussion in 'Saltwater' started by Luke Filmer, Oct 10, 2005.

1. Luke Filmer

Luke Filmer Member

Media:
    I have been fishing more often in the last 12 months than ever, and have attributed the dull ache in my elbow to this increased, and constant casting.
    Admittedtly, I am a self taught caster, but feel as though I can cast great distances with ease.
    Perhaps my technique is off?
    I have been using an intermediate sink tip for cuts, and salmon out in the salt on the local beaches, and it definately takes more work to get the line out than it does to cast a floating line.
    I work at home, and live closeby to good beach fishing, and find the temptation to go fishing too great, so I end up fishing at least 3-4 times a week for several hours a day.
    The obvious answer would be to take a break for a couple weeks, but with Salmon season in full swing -it is just not an option;)
    My elbow has a constant dull ache, and I find the most mundane of tasks to be quite painful at times.
    If anyone could weigh in on this with some advice, it would be sorely appreciated.

2. westie

westie New Member

My Elbow is fine, but I have been having trouble with my shoulder lately which I attribute to my increased beach fishing also. I recently started a new job that is on the beach and like you the temptation to go fishing has been too great. 3-4 times a week after work has been common the last several weeks. Throwing the 8 wt for silvers with an intermediate line and going for maximum distance, I think did the damage. According to the Doc, I may have a torn or damaged rotator cuff! An MRI is forthcoming after the Chum run! Maybe some casting lessons will improve my technique which may help to avoid injury. Can anyone suggest a good casting instructor?

Jeff

3. Luke Filmer

Luke Filmer Member

Media:
    Hey Jeff,