TFO Spey rods - anyone try or own them?

Discussion in 'Spey Clave' started by Denny, Feb 28, 2006.

1. Denny Active Member

Seattle, WA, USA.
    Ratings: +45 / 0
    I have never tried spey fly fishing, and before I spend big $$ on a set up, I'd first like to see if it's for me.

The TFO rods are very affordable, and if the spey rods are like the TFO one handers, their probably a great bargain. However, because I don't know anything about spey fishing and what does or doesn't make a rod good, I wanted to see if there are any opinions or perspectives out there on the TFO product. And, if possible, any recommendations if one stick might be prefereable over another.

What rod would you get for summer steelhead? And, what rod for winter steelhead and salmon?

Thanks!
  2. Ringlee Doesn't care how you fish Moderator

Somewhere you don't know about, WA
    Ratings: +53 / 1
    I have casted the 8126 and I liked it. Was casting a 789 Windcutter on it in Alaska.
    Check out the Spey Forum. There has been alot of talk about the TFO 2 handed rods.
    Chris
  3. MauiJim ka lawai'a

Issaquah, WA
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I have limited spey experience, but I fished a traditional-action Sage VPS 9140 (9wt) and a faster-action TFO 6126 (6wt) side-by-side... they're very different, which wasn't surprising, but I really liked the faster action of the TFO with a Skagit-type line system (short belly).