The Blue Gill in Washington

Discussion in 'Warm Water Species' started by Jermz, Oct 6, 2004.

1. Jermz Jermz

Everett, Wa.
    Ratings: +0 / 0
    I am new to the fishing scene in Washington. I learned the fly by myself and books in South Georgia. Try to find a fresh water fly fishing buddy in South Georgia, I know they're there, but few and far between. I have seen all of the outdoor programs showing the uncomfortable host floating in alligator infested waters trying to pass on as much info in such conditions and smile about it. I was one of those who didn't think about the gators, in fact I stayed in pull with a 13" bass for two hours until he finaly tired enough that I can bring him in. I know my topic is not about bass, but the blue gill. I am an acomplished blue gill fisher man in the south, I have caught two at 2.5 and there abouts more than on one ocasion. I also know that blue gill are a good fish to teach on.
    I have friend who wants me to teach him the way; he has no prior experience to the sport, but is ready and willing. I have had him cast until he is blue in the face and I want to introduce him to blue gill first, but I have no idea where to take him due to the fact I have only lived here for two months and really haven't had time to explore myself, plus I would like to tie one on myself. I don't know if the temp has anything to do with their catchability here, in fact I have no idea what fish do up here, I learned in the south where it is hot almost all year. Any suggestiond, or did I miss the opprotunity and need to wait for him.
    I have no prior expirence with trout, steel head, or salmon and thought I would embarace myself by myself, sjould I take him on one of my endevors, or should I stick to what I know, I don;t want to discourage him. I almost feel like an anbasador. :confused:
  2. MacRowdy Idaho Resident Craftsman/Artisan

Ashton, Idaho